Awards Eligibility: Our Stuff and All the Stuff We Covered in One Handy Place of Awesome

9 Jan

It’s that time of year.  Awards Season.  For us, that mostly means the Hugo Awards.  And since everyone is posting their eligibility posts, we decided we’d do one, too.  But instead of just telling you where we’re eligible, we’re going to do that and tell you about the cool stuff and peoples we talked to throughout the year who are eligible for something, too.  If we missed anything, let us know!

Note:  to nominate works for the Hugos, you need a membership to this year’s Worldcon in Spokane by Jan. 31st. Full memberships are $140 until Jan. 31st. Supporting memberships (i.e., non-attending; mostly just for those that want to nominate and vote) are $40. If you were registered for last year’s Worldcon in London, you can nominate works for 2015, but you won’t be able to vote w/o at least a supporting membership. If you’re not attending, do consider getting a supporting membership so you can vote for your favorite sf/f stuff. It’s definitely worth it. Thanks to Gareth Kavanagh for the reminder.

So, here goes:

The Hugo AwardAs always, The Skiffy and Fanty Show is eligible for the Best Fancast category, so feel free to nominate us again if you liked what we did throughout 2014.  You can click here to get a refresher on our 2014 episode slate.  Our World SF Tour may also be eligible in the Best Related Work category, which would include podcast audio and written materials, and the Skiffy and Fanty blog is eligible for Best Fanzine (we published some great essays and reviews, after all).  Either way, we think 2014 was a great year for the show.

Now for a bit about our hosts.  Here is everything they are individually eligible for:

We also had a couple regular contributors throughout the year who you might consider for Best Fan Writer:

  • Charles Tan (posts can be found here)
  • Joyce Chng (posts can be found here)
    • She also has a post listing her eligible fiction, etc. here.
  • Additional contributions were provided by Daniel Haeusser, Cecily Kane, and Trish Matson, though most of them were blogging elsewhere before they joined our magic crew.

And that’s it for Skiffy and Fanty crew stuff.  Now for everything else!


Best Novel

  • Shadow Ops:  Breach Zone by Myke Cole (Ace)
  • Gemsigns by Stephanie Saulter (Jo Fletcher Books)
  • The Waking Engine by David Edison (Tor Books)
  • The Three by Sarah Lotz (Little, Brown, and Company)
  • Otherbound by Corinne Duyvis (Harry N. Abrams Books)
  • Full Fathom Five by Max Gladstone (Tor Books)
  • The Mirror Empire by Kameron Hurley (Angry Robot Books)
  • City of Stairs by Robert Jackson Bennett (Crown Publishing)
  • Hurricane Fever by Tobias Buckell (Tor Books)
  • Into the Grey by Celine Kiernan (Candlewick Press)
  • Random by Alma Alexander (Dark Quest Books)
  • Ancillary Sword by Ann Leckie (Orbit Books)
  • Memory of Water by Emmi Itäranta (Harper Voyager)
  • Fire with Fire and Trial By Fire by Charles E. Gannon (Baen)
  • Stories of the Raksura (Vol. 1) by Martha Wells (Night Shade Books)

Best Graphic Novel

  • Maddy Kettle:  The Adventure of the Thimblewitch by Eric Orchard (Top Shelf Productions)
  • Ms. Marvel Vol 1:  No Normal by G. Willow Wilson (Marvel Comics)

Best Editors

Best Movie

  • Captain America:  The Winter Soldier
  • Edge of Tomorrow
  • Interstellar
  • Snowpiercer (maybe?)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy 
  • Godzilla

Special thanks to these lovely folks who contributed to the show in some way (they may have eligible works, too; check them out):

  • Tansy Rayner Roberts
  • Marienne de Pierres
  • Rani Graff
  • Didi Chanoch
  • Helen Lowe
  • Norman Cates
  • Stephen Minchin
  • Fabio Fernandes
  • Cesar Alcazar
  • Libby Ginway
  • Jacques Barcia
  • Justin Landon
  • Natalie Luhrs
  • Karen Lord
  • Alex Latimer
  • Lauren Beukes
  • Tiemen Zwaan
  • Marieke Nijkamp
  • Martijn Lindeboom
  • Thomas Olde Heuvelt
  • Carrie Patel (novel comes out this year!)
  • Tore Høie
  • Anna Davour
  • John-Henri Holmberg
  • Sini Neuvonen
  • Marianna Leikomaa
  • Diana Pho
  • Andrew Liptak
  • Dave Margosian
  • Melissa Kaercher
  • Emma Bull
  • Tania Richter
  • Kathryn Sullivan
  • Christoforo Pasquarette
  • Maura McHugh
  • Gareth Kavanagh
  • Michael Carroll
  • Ruth Francis Long
  • Dr. Rubidium
  • Laura Zats
  • Aimee Kuzenski
  • Benny S
  • Jukka Halme
  • Maria Turtschaninoff
  • Tero Ykspetäjä
  • Janos Honkonen
  • Allyson Cygan
  • John Seavey
  • Neil Anderson
  • David G. Shaw
  • Madeline Ashby
  • Jade Ka
  • Eric Choi
  • Kate Heartfield
  • Ira Nayman
  • Hayden Trenholm
  • Caitlin Sweet
  • Marjolaine Lafreniere
  • Foz Meadows
  • Patricia Ash
  • Liz de Jager
  • Erin Underwood
  • Lavie Tidhar
  • Shimon Adaf
  • Fran Wilde
  • Adam Christopher
  • Sofia Samatar
  • Mary Ann Mohanraj
  • Cecilia Tan
  • Usman Malik
  • Kim Stanley Robinson
  • Wesley Chu
  • Anne Lyle
  • Jose Iriarte
  • Catherine Hill
  • James L. Sutter
  • Mahvesh Murad

 And there you have it.  Enjoy!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: