Archive by Author

The 2017 Charity Fundraiser for Human Rights Watch: Make Us Review Batman vs. Superman: Dawn of Justice (2016) for a Good Cause!

4 May

For the next two months, we will be raising $500 for Human Rights Watch for the opportunity to entertain our listeners! HRW have done some amazing work, and we’re happy to contribute to their mission by subjecting ourselves to bad movies!

Here are the full details: Continue reading

Review: The Mad Scientist’s Daughter by Cassandra Clarke

6 Oct

The Mad Scientist's Daughter by Cassandra Rose Clarke - Feb 2013

“Cat, this is Finn. He’s going to be your tutor.”

He looks and acts human, though he has no desire to be. He was programmed to assist his owners, and performs his duties to perfection. A billion-dollar construct, his primary task now is to tutor Cat. As she grows into a beautiful young woman, Finn is her guardian, her constant companion… and more.

But when the government grants rights to the ever-increasing robot population, however, Finn struggles to find his place in the world.

Following her acclaimed Young Adult debut for our sister imprint Strange Chemistry, The Assassin’s Curse, the very talented Cassandra Rose Clarke moves on to more adult themes, in a heartbreaking story of love, loss … and robots.

It isn’t easy to define what makes us human.  I’m not convinced that anyone, from Aristotle to Descartes, ever achieved a reasonable answer, nor has modern Continue reading

Torture Cinema Poll #6: The Special Halloween Edition!

3 Oct

It’s time to help us pick another movie!  This time it’s for Halloween, which means Jen is going to spend the entire week being terrified of everything on this list…

Vote away!

Tobias S. Buckell Hits Kickstarter with New Xenowealth Novel

24 Sep

Caribbean-born Tobias S. Buckell hasn’t published a new book in his Xenowealth saga since 2008.  Fans of Crystal Rain, Ragamuffin, and Sly Mongoose have been hoping for another book in the series, particularly since Sly Mongoose ended with a huge plot shift that opened up Buckell’s “universe” to an infinite number of new stories.  But publishing is a wicked beast, and things don’t always go as planned.

That is until Kickstarter showed up and started changing the game for writers.  Buckell has taken the next installment of the Xenowealth saga to the indie funding/incentive platform and is calling on fans to help him reach his $10,000 goal:

One of the most frequent questions I get is this: ‘When will you write a sequel to Crystal Rain/Ragamuffin/Sly Mongoose?’ The truth is, I have most of the outline for the fourth book already written, as well as a chunk of the opening already done. And I think it would be great to see it fully written.

Using Kickstarter, it seems to me that we can put together a very cool project. One where I can present readers of this existing series with a sequel, while allowing everyone to basically pre-order the novel. If enough people commit to backing it, readers will get an awesome eBook (I create eBooks for freelance income on the side), or a great hardcover (with the help of a great designer), with even cooler rewards for those who want to read the book as it is being written or who want to leave their mark on the Xenowealth universe.

The Xenowealth novels have always been fairly unique with their diaspora characters in the future, bringing a range of diversity to straight up adventure novels, with bits and pieces of Caribbean inspiration folded in for good measure. Allowing readers to pre-purchase the next Xenowealth adventure is an exciting prospect, and I hope that many of the dedicated readers of the first three books are as as excited as I am about a chance to come back to these worlds and characters.

If we can raise $10,000, upon completion of the novel (I will start writing it January 1st at the latest, and will finish in June), backers receive their rewards (those backing the project for above $250 get to read along live, however) once the book is finished and turned into an eBook and limited edition hardcover.

The project has to meet its minimum funding goal by the 19th of October (by 2:56 PM EDT).

And what’s in it for readers?  Depending on how much you give, you can receive ebook or hardcover copies of the finished product, have a character or spaceship named after you, or even have a short story set in the universe written specifically for you.  There are also incentives to publicize the hell out of the project.  Buckell has set a series of goals above $10,000 that, if reached, will result in lots of cool extras for everyone who donates (artwork, etc.).  But the main goal is that $10,000.

So the question is:  are you going to donate?  Because I am…as soon as I get my next paycheck.

——————————–

P.S.:  You can check out our interview with Tobias S. Buckell here.

Torture Cinema #5 Poll Results

24 Sep

You voted for it, and on Monday, we’ll deliver our bitter, slightly humorous review.

And what did you vote for? This piece of crap:

Thanks again, guys. We love you all like we love an undiscovered brain tumor…

%d bloggers like this: